RSS

Removing Apps

10 Jan

Oh, we’ve all done it: gone on an app binge, finding and installing all sorts of things that promise the world but fail to deliver.  When the dust settles, your Kindle Fire is cluttered with apps you never intend to use and never should have fooled with in the first place. What to do?

Removing an app from your Fire is easy.  Wherever you encounter the icon of the offending app, press and hold it.  In the resulting menu, choose Remove from Device.  After a moment, the app is gone!  Note that you do not have to separately remove the app from the carousel and/or your favorites; removing the app from your Fire also removes all traces of it from the home screen.

Although you may remove an app from your Fire, it still stays in your Amazon account, up in the cloud.  You will still see it in the “cloud” view of your apps. If you change your mind, you can easily reinstall the app later.  This isn’t a big deal for free apps, which you could always reinstall from the App Store, but it is important for paid apps.  As long as a paid app stays in the your account in the cloud, you can reinstall it for free.

But what if you really want to get rid of an app? It is possible to remove an app from your Amazon account, on both your Fire and in the cloud.  Once you do this, the app will disappear from your Fire and the cloud view of your apps in the App Store.

Completely removing an app is easy, but you can’t do it from your Fire’s home screen.  You’ll need to log into your Amazon account using a web browser.  Fortunately, you can use the browser on your Fire, or a browser on your PC or Mac.

From your favorite place to access the web, go to Amazon and log into your account.  In the upper right corner of the window. click on Your Account.  From the resulting page, click on Your Apps and Devices located down in the section labeled Digital Content. You should see a list of your apps; if not, click on Your Apps in the left hand side of the page.

Every app you’ve ever installed will be listed here, free or paid.  To completely remove an app from your account, click on the Actions button, way to the right of the offending app.  In the resulting menu, select Delete this app. You’ll be asked to confirm this action, and if you do so, the app will be completely removed from your account and devices. Easy!

With this bit of advice, you can now freely experiment with apps.  Keep the ones you like, save some in the cloud for later, and completely remove the ones you know you’ll never use.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 10, 2012 in Beginner, Experienced, Tips

 

7 responses to “Removing Apps

  1. Laurie

    February 8, 2012 at 1:43 pm

    Wrong! The apps I deleted from my library through amazon.com are STILL on my cloud on my Kindle Fire.

     
  2. Chuck Musciano

    February 8, 2012 at 1:46 pm

    Hmmm. Did you resync your Fire afterwards? It may take a little while for the change to show up on your device. Tap the upper right corner of the screen and then tap “Sync.” Did that help?

     
    • Laurie

      February 8, 2012 at 1:48 pm

      2 or 3 times. I can take books off the cloud but the apps won’t go away.

       
  3. Chuck Musciano

    February 8, 2012 at 1:56 pm

    I just tried this, and sure enough, even though I deleted an app on my Amazon account, it did not get removed from my device, even after several sync attempts. However, when I try to download the app to my Fire, I get an error. This means that my account knows that the app is gone, but my Fire does not. I even tried rebooting, but that did not help.

    I’m a bit surprised; I actually test my advice before I post, so something has changed somewhere in the Amazon world since I wrote this post.

    What we have discovered, then, is a bug in the Kindle Fire/Amazon App Store. I’ll update this post if this changes.

     
    • Laurie

      February 8, 2012 at 2:08 pm

      Thanks for double checking it for me. Now I don’t feel stupid :)

       
  4. Karen

    April 10, 2012 at 12:43 pm

    OK, I don’t feel so bad now……wanted to de-clutter my Fire, looks good on Amazon site, but still tons of stuff on my fire. I’ve been searching all morning for an answer to this and unable to find one.

    On another site, someone fixed theirs by deactivating their Kindle on Amazon then re-registering it. I would rather not do that, just in case something would go wrong. plus I didn’t know if there was a limit to how many times you could re-register a device….

     
  5. kelly

    July 29, 2014 at 1:45 pm

    if you just de-register then re-register after you do all the steps above it works!! my kindle fire now if free of all the uninstalled apps i didn’t want!! Thank you so much for the help :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

